Yahoo front-page testing IE only

February 23, 2006

A couple of weeks ago or so, I saw a notice on Yahoo! that they were looking for people to give feedback on their front page (IIRC, it was tied in with possible new designs; honestly my memory is kind of fuzzy on what it was exactlydic).  Sucker for playing with new stuff that I am, I filled out a short questionnaire and submitted it. 

A few days later I got an e-mail from "a marketing research company that has been commissioned by Yahoo! to conduct a study among their users", notifying me that someone would be calling me in the next few days to asess my suitability for the study.

I got that phone call today and it started off happily enough.  I was asked which front pages (AOL, MSN, Google, Yahoo) I used, what parts of Yahoo  I used, and whether I was related to anyone in the marketing, media, technology business.  All of my answers were apparently satisfactory.

The final question I was asked was "What web browser do you use?" I answered "Firefox" and my questioner asked whether I was sure because she thought that was an ISP.  When I confirmed my response, I was informed that they were looking for users of Internet Explorer only and was thanked for my time.

Sigh.  

technorati tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

