Flock non-review

October 28, 2005

My inability to blog (without the use of a backup site) when my laptop became inoperable had me looking for a new blogging tool.  I had been interested in wordpress.com, but up to this point accounts have been invitation only, so I was unable to act on that desire.

I was pleasantly surprised to discover yesterday that one could receive a wordpress.com account by downloading the Flock web browser.  The front page of the Flock website warns that “this preview ain’t for the faint of heart” (i.e. it could prove to be crash-prone, etc).  No worries for me as I am accustomed to running such things, whether they be called previews, betas, whatever.  I thought I would have something new to play with as well as something to write about.

 Alas, that is not the case at this time.  I am seeing bug 1392 in all its glory.  After the browser has been running for a short period of time, routine tasks such as opening a new link (same window, new tab, does not make a difference), max out the CPU for a prolonged period of time (sometimes upwards of a minute).  Definitely a ‘blocker’ for me, so no review or comments for now.

 On the off chance that anyone reading this wonders or cares, the build id is:

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8b5) Gecko/20051021 Flock/0.4 Firefox/1.0+ 

 

One Response to “Flock non-review”


  1. Play Omaha Hold High For Free

    trustworthiness perfuming adjudicated.exploring Rasmussen seasoning


Leave a Reply

